Back In Action

Health Solutions (703) 356-6284

Flexitarianism

Leave a comment

As Patty and Dr. Blabey are mostly vegan, I felt that I needed a change in my diet too. Ever since I stopped playing competitive sports, my metabolism has slowed down and so has my energy. However, I love my meat. I mean  buffalo chicken wings, filet mignon, pork chops; how could I ever give that up? Well, this past weekend, I learned about flexitarianism. I had never heard of the word before, but it sounds just as it is. Flexitarianism- the act of eating a semi-vegetarian or semi-vegan diet. Usually eating a full days worth of vegetarian or vegan food only- for a couple times a week, then the other days of the week, going back to eating a full diet of dairy and meat (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Semi-vegetarianism).  

This seemed highly do-able to me. So, I got my boyfriend in on it and we decide to pick Monday, Wednesday, and Friday to eat entirely a vegan diet, then the other days eat whatever we want. Doing any type of diet with someone else, is such a great idea, mentally and physically. On Sunday, we head off to the grocery store to pick out some vegan items to survive us through the first day.

I found a vegan-only grocery list online here; http://www.peta2.com/stuff/s-wte-groceryshopping.asp and we picked our favorite-sounding items. 

It’s half-way through the first official vegan day and it feels great already! I had Oatmeal and an apple for breakfast, and a delicious salad with avocado for lunch. Remember, a lot of salad dressings are secretly cream-based, so stick to the Italian or oil and vinegar dressings. 

Now, I felt like a needed a lifestyle change to feel more energetic and lose weight. Depending on how you feel, you could just cut back a percentage of vegan or vegetarian foods each day, or cut off whole days like I am. It really just depends on how you feel and how you want to go about it. 

So, why vegan or vegetarian? Here is an article to read that gets into detail; http://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/the-truth-about-red-meat. Eating red meat, for example is so hard on your body as it takes so much time for your body to digest. Vegan or vegetarianism isn’t only a healthier diet choice, it also saves animals and the planet! It’s been proven that even cutting back once a week can help save animals and the planet, while cleansing your body a large margin. 

 

I’ll update on my flexitarian diet feelings in a couple days, but it seems like it’s going to go really well!

 

Author: Dr. Gary Blabey

To get more information about the methods and techniques used by Dr. Gary Blabey, Vienna Chiropractor to relieve spinal pain for individuals who may be in chronic pain, visit www.backinactionva.com today. Individuals and members of the press wishing to get more details about this press release will find contact information below. Dr. Gary Blabey Back in Action Health Solutions 8306-C Old Courthouse Road Vienna, VA 22182 Telephone: 703-356-6284 Fax: 703-356-6304 Email: backinactionva@gmail.com Website: www.backinactionva.com Dr. Gary Blabey, Vienna Chiropractor has been recognized as an authority on natural spinal pain relief for his ability to create individualized programs that help individuals find the relief from pain that they are seeking safely and naturally. Through a holistic approach, the doctor provides a complete program to patients that gives them a better quality of life, health and wellness.

Leave a Reply

